Job Shadow Day 2013 | Business

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Job Shadow Day 2013

 

 

Kickoff Friday, February 1, 2013

What: In an effort to encourage Maine students to strive for success, increase their knowledge of the business world, and gain a better understanding of jobs in the community, Junior Achievement of Maine will be launching its Job Shadow Day 2013 on Friday. 6th-8th grade classes throughout the State of Maine will be matched with a host business to shadow for the day. Job Shadow Day is part of a nationwide initiative that enables students to get an up-close look at the different career opportunities available to them when they are ready to enter the workforce.

When: Friday, February 1st from 9:30am-1:00pm

Where:

 

Acadia Environmental, 48 Free Street, Portland

Contact: Tom Schwarm, 207-780-1230, tschwarm@acadiaenvironmential.com

 

Bangor Savings Bank, 280 Fore Street, Ste 200 Portland, ME

Contact: Teresa Thompson, 207-541-2724, Teresa.Thompson@Bangor.com

 

Clark Insurance, 2385 Congress Street, Portland

Contact: Tony Payne, 207-774-6257, Tpayne@clarkinsurance.com

 

Dead River Company, 73 Pleasant Hill Road, Scarborough,   

Contact: Bethany Doyon, 207-883-9515, bethany.doyon@deadriver.com

 

Dead River Company, 103 South Maine Street, Brewer

Contact: Scott Gray, Scott.Gray@deadriver.com

 

Dennis Paper & Food Service, 101 Mecaw Road, Bangor

Contact: Rick Robertson, rrobertson@dennisexpress.com

 

DiMillo’s On the Water, 25 Long Wharf Commercial St., Portland

Contact: Johnny DiMillo, 207-772-2216, Johnny@DiMillos.com

 

Goodwill Industries of Northern New England, 353 Cumberland Ave., Portland

Contact: Kimberly Curry, 774-6323, Kimberly.curry@goodwillnee.org     

 

Gorham Savings Bank, 10 Wentworth Drive, Gorham

Contact: Kevin Heatley, 207- 222-1414, kheatley@gorhamsavingsbank.com

 

HealthSource Chiropractic & Rehab Wellness Center, 949 Brighton Avenue, Portland

Contact: Dr. Mitchell Vance, 780-1070, mvance@healthsourcechiro.com

 

Home Depot, 164 Longview Drive, Bangor

Contact: Cindy Annis, CINDY_L_ANNIS@homedepot.com

 

IDEXX Laboratories, Inc., One IDEXX Drive, Westbrook, ME 

Contact: Tammy Phillips, (207) 856-0367, tammy-phillips@idexx.com

 

Institute for Financial Literacy, 260 Western Avenue, Suite 1, South Portland

Contact: Bryan Wyatt, 207-221-3613, bwyatt@financiallit.org

 

Kaplan University, 265 Western Avenue, South Portland                               

Contact: Nicole Lindsay, 207-221-8704, nlindsay@kaplan.edu

 

Linscott Reality, 22 Cottage Road, South Portland

Contact: Brian K. Linscott, 207-767-3366, brian@linscottrealestate.com

 

Maine Credit Union League, 2 Ledgeview Drive, Westbrook, ME 

Contact: Jon Paradise, 207-773-5671, JParadise@mainecul.org

 

Marriott Courtyard Bangor, 236 Sylvan Road Bangor

Contact: Heather Assi Antonin, Heather.Assiantonin@marriott.com

 

MEMIC, 261 Commercial Street, Portland

Contact: Deb Sabatino, dsabatino@memic.com

 

Portland City Hall, 389 Congress Street Portland, ME                                       

Contact:  Sonia Bean, 207-874-8689, stb@portlandmaine.gov

 

Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, 200 Sable Oaks Dr., South Portland

Contact: Jennifer Czachor, 207-871-8000 x6026, jczachor@marriott-sableoaks.com

 

Portland Public Library, 21 Elm Street, Portland                                  

Contact: Linda Albert, 207-871-1700, albert@portland.lib.me.us

 

Powerpay, LLC, 320 Cumberland Ave., Portland, ME

Contact: Linda Cannon, 207-228-6000 x 1137, lcannon@powerpay.biz

 

Sam’s Club, 47 Haskell Road, Bangor

Contact: Mindy Whittington, ibwhitt.s06333.us@samsclub.com

 

SIGCO, Inc., 48 Spiller Drive, Westbrook

Contact: David Elhinny, 207-775-2676, dmcelhinny@sigcoinc.com

 

Sprague Energy Corporation, 92 Cassidy Point Drive, Portland

Contact: Dan Carrigan, 603-430-7242, dcarrigan@spragueenergy.com

 

Synernet, Inc., 121 Free Street, Portland

Contact: Jeff Laniewski, jlaniewski@synernet.net

 

Turner Barker Insurance/Gorham Savings Bank, 63 Marginal Way St. 200, Portland

Contact: Jade St. Pierre, 207.839.5209 x 8424, jstpierre@gorhamsavingsbank.com

 

Volk Packaging, 11 Morin Street, Biddeford

Contact: Derek Volk, 207-571-5511, dsvolk@volkboxes.com

 

WMTW-TV, 477 Congress St., Portland

Contact: Sarah Nash, 207-523-4522, SNash@hearst.com

Why: Job Shadow Day is designed to give students an opportunity to bridge classroom lessons with career exploration. JA’s main goal for this event is to encourage mentors to host a class at their place of work. Businesses take an active part in introducing Maine students to the business community and demonstrating how the skills learned in school are put into action. We are expecting over 500 Maine students to participate.

Junior Achievement of Maine is a local non profit organization dedicated to educating students in grades K-12 about entrepreneurship, work readiness and financial literacy through experiential, hands-on programs. In partnership with businesses and educators, JA brings the real world to Maine students by preparing them for the world of work. JA is the world’s largest organization dedicated to inspiring and preparing young people to succeed in a global economy. To find out more about participating in area classrooms or providing a job shadowing experience at your business, contact Junior Achievement of Maine at 347-4333 or visit www.jamaine.org

Portland Deals

Portland Businesses